Confessions of an IWU College Student

27 December, 2006

A letter

Filed under: Letter, Uncategorized — Matthew Casey @ 5:05 am

Dear Winter,

Hello winter, you may have heard of me, my name is Matt Casey. I know you may be harboring some cold feelings for me still after all these years. I’m sorry that I denounced you as my favorite season 7 years ago, but it was time to move on to better seasons. I’m sorry I chose Autumn. However, Winter, you have so many great qualities to offer, none of which you are putting on the table as of now.

Where is the snow? How can I make forts, shovel, and go sledding without the snow. These are awesome past times in your time of year, and yet still you keep them away from us. I do not care for your maniacal laughter, Mr. Frost, I choose instead your chilly warmth of hot cocoa, and frozen hands. Why won’t you come to us?

You gave us a glimpse on Christmas evening, but not enough of you to make your friend Parson Brown come to life. You tease us, torment us, and give us inspiration here and there, but ultimatel crush our dreams. You’re like the captain of the cheerleading squad who gives you a smile and a wink, but never anymore. Please give in and come to us., give us a chance to embrace you.

I wanna make it right Winter. I don’t want you to feel lead on, because I’m sticking with my guns, and my guns are, well in singular sense, Autumn (Autumns?) but I nevertheless miss your presence with your bountiful and beautiful snow powdering the ground, cascading off trees, and creating an aura of happiness everywhere.

I miss you,

Matt Casey

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.