Confessions of an IWU College Student

5 December, 2006

Excuse the pig, the hog would have known better

Filed under: Uncategorized — Matthew Casey @ 8:01 am

    My experience with Mr. Robert Tenney is a short, but blissful one. I first knew him as the man that shows Dr. J, a popular yet quirky physics professor in old videos, and I also knew Mr. Tenney as the lunchline bouncer. He seemed like a really nice guy, and I liked having a few words with him here and there. My senior year in high school I elected to bypass AP Biology and take physics so I could experience Mr. Tenney before I graduated, I did the same thing with Herr Keiser.

Mr. Tenney is an incredible teacher. He can teach anything. He puts things in a way that anyone can understand it, and he’s OCD. He uses various colors on the board for fear of the mathematics becoming too mundane, and everything in his room is arranged perfectly symmetrical. It is incredible. He just knows when somebody steals something and it irks him to no end because the room is no longer symmetrical. He is so easy to get off topic, but that is really okay. For reasons other than you are thinking right now. It is because we see the human side of him when he gets off topic, not all business, but friendly. This is not to say he isn’t friendly while he is teaching, but this, this is much more open than the lecture. We learn of Colorado and its blue skies, open prairies and mountains. We learn about his son, his wife, Ohio State, and experiences of his childhood. We learn about Mr. Tenney the man, and I love being able to do that. He works so hard, and helps so much.

He and his brother Mr. Wagner are a great team. Although they do not teach the same subject, they know each other so well. Working together professionally for over 30 years, and attending the same university, and working in the same lab station. They are good friends, and likewise, very similar in personality. Mr. Wagner is another teacher that has had a great influence on my life. Mr. Tenney just makes me happy, makes me feel warm, and he is definitely unforgetable. I know he would listen to anything I would say to him, and he would try to help me. We always go back and forth with each other with the jokes and that is a great deal of fun. Rapier wit of two people, one old, one young, going head-to-head, I love that sort of thing. And I love Mr. Bob Tenney, giver of Dr. J, and beholder of the greatness that entraps us all known as physics (and AP physics.)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.